Writing 1 (Crit 1)

I’m Brittney Walton. My work is usually about things that are important to me depicted in ways that I find visually appealing. I think my work has a strong graphic design influence since that has been my main course of study until this point. I like bold, graphic shapes, making work with a lot of texture but simple shapes. I am fascinated by the ranges of contrast that can be achieved with just black and white.

Here’s a couple examples of my previous work:

IMG_0726
Brittney Walton, Anna, digital, 2015

 

DSC_0308
Brittney Walton, Jugular, Etching, 2014

For this class I plan to explore etching and various techniques associated with it. I tried etching in my printmaking class and I fell in love with the process. I intend to create a series of still lives of places that have been important to me.

Many artists have inspired me. Richey Beckett, a Welsh artist whose work is done mostly in stippling with tech pens and is then translated into screenprints with color, creating whimsical, surprisingly detailed works. I love his use of contour and texture and I strive to someday reach his level of excellence in my own work.

RBeckett_Conviction_Pale_Pink
Richey Beckett, Conviction, Screen Print

 

Writing 1 (Crit 1)

One thought on “Writing 1 (Crit 1)

Leave a comment