Writing 5, Crit 1

I’ve been having the problem at every critique that my theme of “home” hasn’t been apparent in my pieces. I’ve loved going through the process of printmaking but I think the problem is that I’ve been thinking too much about the process and not enough about the content. I’ve been trying to think of better ways to convey my message and I think to convey comfort, I need to choose a method I am actually comfortable with to take my focus off the process and put it more on my piece. I’ve done digital work for as long as I can remember so for this critique I’m trying to utilize some of the pieces I’ve already made as a base and continue transforming them digitally to try to accomplish my goal.

As we’ve recently worked on turning linocuts into GIFs in class, I’m drawn to the idea of turning my previous pieces into living, “breathing” objects by layering and collaging my editions and other material together.

Writing 5, Crit 1

Leave a comment